This project has moved and is read-only. For the latest updates, please go here.

Connected Components area threshold

Aug 22, 2016 at 6:29 AM
Edited Aug 23, 2016 at 7:38 AM
I'm very new to ImageMagick so I apologise if this is really simple; I want to use Connected Components to identify whether objects exist in an image, and create a .png representing this. In the Command Line, I am able to achieve this through:
magick convert compared.png -define connected-components:verbose=true -define connected-components:area-threshold=200 -connected-components 4 -auto-level connectedcomponents.png
... the output image filters out all components with less than 200 pixels in area. I am trying to recreate this in C# Magick.NET and having some issues finding the right way to do so. I am currently trying this:
Bitmap connectedComponents;

using (MagickImage compared = new MagickImage(filepath)) // filepath is a string
{ 
    compared.Settings.SetDefine(MagickFormat.Png, "connected-components:area-threshold", "200");
    IEnumerable<ConnectedComponent> check = compared.ConnectedComponents(4);
    compared.AutoLevel();

connectedComponents = compared.ToBitmap(System.Drawing.Imaging.ImageFormat.Png);
}
connectedComponents.Save("..\\..\\Test Images\\connectedcomponents.png", System.Drawing.Imaging.ImageFormat.Png);
I initially thought this didn't work because my "connected-components:area-threshold" was incorrect, but it's probably because "compared" isn't changing. How can I factor this change on to my image?
Aug 23, 2016 at 8:17 AM
I may have a solution but I don't think it's a particularly clean one.