This project has moved. For the latest updates, please go here.

Image Magick resize on server side taking 3 minutes to process to 10 different sizes… how to boost the performance

Oct 4, 2014 at 6:58 AM
Edited Oct 4, 2014 at 7:07 AM
I am working on a project which involves uploading of Dslr Camera images from user and resizing to 10 different sizes...

I am using Imagemagick to resize on server side.... but it is taking too much time to process images.. which is more than 3 minutes ... end user will be irritated waiting for it to done...

so i want to reduce the time and enhance the performance.... Please help me on what changes to be made..

As i tried same file(4mb--6mb) to upload on flickr,500px and facebook they did it in less time....

I am not a Pro programmer ..... Iam just using simple mechanism to upload file through input and process the images in action of controller on serverside...

I used the following procedure suggested by dlemstra to process resize of image uploaded by the user to 10 different sizes but still the processing time is 2.2 minutes...
void Resize()
{
  using (MagickImage original = new MagickImage("original.jpg"))
  {
    original.AutoOrient();
    original.Strip();
    original.ColorSpace = ColorSpace.Lab;
    original.SetAttribute("density", "72x72");

int[] sizes = new int[] { 2048, 1600, 1024, 800, 640 };
    Parallel.For(0, sizes.Length, delegate(int index)
    {
      int size = sizes[index];

if (original.Width <= size && original.Height <= size)
        return;

using (MagickImage resized = original.Clone())
      {
        if (size == 2048)
          resized.SetDefine(MagickFormat.Jpeg, "sampling-factor", "4:4:4");

resized.Blur(1, 0.375);

resized.FilterType = FilterType.LanczosSharp;
        resized.Resize(size, size);

resized.ColorSpace = ColorSpace.sRGB;
        Unsharpmask(resized, size);

resized.Quality = 85;

resized.Write(GetOutputName(size));
      }
    });
  }
}